Sign Up To Keep Up To Date on CCM Concerts in the Philippines!

Keep Up To Date on Pinoy CCM Events

Monday, June 8, 2009

Christian music news: Biography

Latest christian music: Relient K is a Christian / band. They were formed in 1998 in Canton, Ohio. The band named themselves after guitarist Matt Hoopes’ Plymouth Reliant K car. The band has received numerous awards including a Grammy nomination in 2003 for Best Rock Gospel Album and two Dove Awards.

There are frequent debates on whether or not they belong in the Christian rock genre. “We’re just doing what we do. We’re having fun. We write about what we want to write about and, you know, most of the time, that’s, you know, our hearts and our faith.”

The band broke into the mainstream in 2004 after Capitol signed them and they released their fourth record, Mmhmm, which debuted at #15 on the Billboard 200, produced three top five hits on Christian radio and two top 20 hits on mainstream radio. Their fifth full length record, Five Score and Seven Years Ago, debuted at #6 on the U.S. Billboard 200. It sold approximately 64,000 copies in its first week.


Relient K was founded in 1998 by Matt Thiessen and Matt Hoopes on guitar, and Brian Pittman on bass. Todd Frescone joined for a short time on the drums in 1998. After All Work and No Play, the band’s demo album, Todd Frescone was replaced by Stephen Cushman. Cushman played drums on the band’s first EP, 2000 A.D.D., and on their self-titled debut album in 2000, but left later that year to join the Christian metal band Narcissus. Jared Byers, drummer of the Christian rock band Bleach, filled in as the temporary drummer, until Dave Douglas joined in December of 2000. This lineup remained static from the release of The Creepy EP and The Anatomy of the Tongue in Cheek in 2001, through the release of Mmhmm in 2004, after which Brian Pittman left to start a landscaping company. Pittman now plays bass for the Christian metal band Inhale Exhale, and once said he grew up liking metal, so it is better for him. John Warne, lead singer and guitarist of Ace Troubleshooter, filled in as bassist for the remainder of 2004. He became full-time bassist in 2005. Also in 2005, Jon Schneck joined as a third guitarist, as well as a banjo and bell player, to create a fuller, more distinctive sound. The band recently announced that Dave Douglas (Drums) has decided to leave the band. On February 12th, 2008 the band announced Dave’s replacement. Anouncing this on his personal website, Ethan Luck - member of Demon Hunter and the deceased O. C. Supertones - will become the newest member of the band. Ethan had recently been serving as a crew member for Relient K.

Current Members

-Matt Thiessen – lead vocals, guitar, piano (1998–present)
-Matt Hoopes – guitar, (1998–present)
-John Warne – bass, (2004–present)
-Jon Schneck – guitar, banjo, bells, (2005–present)
-Ethan Luck - drums (2008–present)

Former Members

-Todd Frescone – drums (1998)
-Stephen Cushman – drums, backing vocals (1998–2000)
-Jared Byers – drums (2000)
-Dave Douglas – drums, (2000-2007)
-Brian Pittman – bass (1998–2004)



-Self-Titled - April 25, 2000
-The Anatomy of the Tongue in Cheek - August 25, 2001 #158 (U.S.) Certified: Gold (U.S.)
-Two Lefts Don’t Make a Right…but Three Do - March 11, 2003 #38 (U.S.) Certified: Gold (U.S.)
-Mmhmm - November 2, 2004 #15 (U.S.) Certified: Gold (U.S.)
-Five Score and Seven Years Ago - March 6, 2007 #6 (U.S.)
-The Bird and the Bee Sides - July 1, 2008


No comments: